Howling Good Time Had By All

Despite continuous heavy rains during that day, and the day prior, Muddog faithful showed their appreciation for their fellow competitors, marshals and sponsors, when they joined their Speed Event counterparts at the Annual Awards held at the home of John and Sue Pinto, Saturday night.

In recognition of their yeoman service during the year, Muddog Marshals, Philip McConney (Long Service Marshal Award), Reihanna Bulbulia (Outstanding Marshal Award) and Peggy Kirton (Rookie Marshal Award) recieved their trophies from club stalwart, Biddy Barber, who has competed in, organised and marshaled many events over the years. Additionally,  special awards were presented to Chefette Restaurants (Championship Sponsor Appreciation Award ), Trina Griffith (Joan Alleyne Memorial Trophy for the Highest-placed Female Navigator), Joycelyn and Victor Pinto & family and Johnny Pinto (MudDogs Helpers Appreciation Awards).

Safari Route Setters, Pete Bradshaw, Willie Hinds and Wayne Manning (March Safari), Philip McConney (Chefette April Safari), Derek Gill, Audley, Jeremy and Andrew Croney (Sol June Safari), Ben Norris and Kirk Watkins (Carter's Pit-Stop September Safari) and Gary and George Mendes (Nassco November Safari) recieved awards to thunderous applause for their dedication to setting fantstic routes in this years Championship.

Brothers Damien and Brandon Johnson were Chefette MudDogs Novice Champions, winning free entry to the 2015 BRC MudDogs Safari Championship in addition to their trophies, after having a close season battle with Julian Kirton and Dominic Straker. In the Chefette MudDogs Safari Championship, Chris O’Neal won the Sextant Challenge Trophy as Champion Navigator (recieved by Lindsay Farmer on behalf of O'Neal) for the second consecutive time, with Leslie Alleyne adding a fifth Champion Driver title to those he won in 2006, ’08, ’11 and last year, again taking home the Peter Farmer Memorial Trophy, having narrowly defeating Andrew Croney and Derek Gill on the final event of the year.


Chefette MudDogs Safari Championship

The Champions received the Sextant Challenge Trophy (Navigator) and the Peter Farmer Memorial Trophy (Driver), plus five cases of Banks beer and one case of Cockspur Old Gold; second and third Navigator and Driver each received a trophy

Champion Driver & Navigator: Leslie Alleyne & Chris O’Neal (Simpson Motors/Shell Spirax/Shell Rimula/Maxxis Isuzu D-Max), 236pts

2nd Derek Gill & Andrew Croney (Insurance Solutions/Sweet Temptations Mitsubishi Pajero), 234pts

3rd George & Gary Mendes (G & G Sales & Service/Lunatics Inc Mitsubishi L200 Sportero), 220pts

Chefette MudDogs Novice Safari Championship

Each received a trophy and a Barbecue Barn voucher; the Champion Novice Driver and Navigator also received free entry (not including insurance) to the 2014 MudDogs Safari Championship

Champion Novice Driver & Navigator: Damien & Brandon Johnson (Western Union Suzuki Samurai), 238pts

2nd Julian Kirton & Dominic Straker (Kirts Connection Jeep Wrangler), 234pts

3rd Novice Driver: Richard Hinkson (Eastern Veterinary Clinic/No More Turns Racing Suzuki Samura), 168pts

MudDogs Special Awards

Championship Sponsor Appreciation Award - Chefette Restaurants

Joan Alleyne Memorial Trophy (Highest-placed Female Navigator) – Trina Griffith

MudDogs Helpers Appreciation Awards - Joycelyn and Victor Pinto & family and Johnny Pinto

Route-setters Awards - Pete Bradshaw, Audley, Jeremy and Andrew Croney, Derek Gill, Willie Hinds, Wayne Manning, Gary and George Mendes, Philip McConney, Ben Norris, Kirk Watkins

Marshals Awards

Each marshal received a trophy

Long-standing Marshal: Philip McConney

Outstanding Marshal: Reihanna Bulbulia

Rookie Marshal: Peggy Kirton


For media information only. No regulatory value.